Sober and Sleepless

I don’t want to take any meds today.

I shouldn’t need them… it’s just sleep.

I want to drink…

but I can’t

9PM

It’s time to sleep. I tell myself

Yet nothing comes.

It’s time to sleep. I tell myself

Pulling the covers over my shoulders,

Turning off the tv and leaving the phone to charge.

It’s time to sleep.

12AM

My eyes are open, wondering

Why haven’t I fallen asleep yet?

I get up, grab some water and ponder.

I need more darkness, I say to myself

Yes. Darkness.

I need the blanket of nothingness yet immensely heavy on me

to cocoon me through this restless night

3AM

I still haven’t slept. I feel the mania coming on.

I’m going crazy.

The frustrations are rolling off my body,

acting as a furness,

heating my body. Hot. Angry.

The mania makes me envision other lives; what could have been, the lost loved that were made right, the what if’s….

what if he hadn’t….

All the what if’s

No.

A different life of mine flashes before me.

And envisioned life I’ve seen before

Only in my waking dreams.

It’s not real. Lie.

I have so much to do tomorrow.

So much.

I need to sleep.

It’s bed time.

5AM

I have given up. It will not happen tonight.

Not everyone wins in this world.

Why. Why can’t I sleep. All I want to do is close my eyes and rest. Maybe even dream happy dreams….

8AM

My nights are sleepless. Always and forever.

Leave a comment